Dragon Age 2 Dual Wield Rogue Hawke & Team Build DA II

Protected by Copyscape Original Content Checker*

SPOILERS AHEAD!

Other Hawke and Party Builds

I will be talking about certain bosses and events in the game which are story spoilers. Don’t read it if you don’t want some secrets revealed.

To be brutally honest, I’m not going to go so far as to call this a “tank” any more than my mage or 2 Handed Warrior build was. It was my first play through as a rogue, third play through total, and I’m still relying mainly on Origins experience. There may be things which are more effective, particularly on a difficulty level other than “casual.” It will take me many more times through the game to make the most lethal warriors possible for my playing style. Expect new posts in the future as I learn the game hands-on. I only post from my own experiences.

This build was, however, deadly and effective with the team in Casual. I got my party killed once when mobbed by a pride demon, blood mage, and about a dozen mages. Ironically, this wasn’t the last boss, but just the one place in the game I have trouble. It is toward the end, but everything else I breezed through fairly well. Toward the end and on the High Dragon I think I actually had to use a few health potions, but I only went through 10 or less through the whole game, with less than 6 injuries, so I counted my team a success.

I didn’t bother with any of the party tactics because I never needed them. They seemed to do their own thing just fine and on the rare occasion they didn’t, I’d switch over to them manually.

This Hawke relied on the sarcastic responses. The only thing he was nice about was his family, and the only thing which brought out aggression was his desire to see the Circles banned. His sister lived in this one and was sent to the Circle so he was very pro-mage and anti-templar. He and Anders got along famously.

Fenris was seldom in the party but on his way to a healthy Rivalry score. Isabella was his first love interest, then they had their fun and he stuck with Merril at the end. Avaline liked him too for some reason so Friendship were maxed on Avaline, Anders, Merril, and Isabella. Fenris and Sebastian were deep into Rivalry, and Bethany was high enough to trigger the Friendship benefits.

Anders was kept in for the final fight because this Hawke was all for chaos and didn’t mind bloodshed. I wasn’t so concerned about pumping up the Constitution since I had access to 2 healers at the end.

Once Bethany had gone to the Circle, he ran with Isabella, Merril and Avaline. Toward the middle I traded Avaline for Anders because I needed a healer. In the final battle it was Avaline, Anders and Bethany. Avaline and Hawke did the tanking and the mages threw spells and healed.

Hawke as a Dual Wield Rogue

Here are his basic stats

Photo

I used these the most. I kept Lacerate going full time to help inflict the most damage possible then went through the attacks as they were available from cooling down.

Photo

Photo

This is a very simple but very effective ability I used constantly. It stunned enemies in place and can be “cast” from a distance. This helped bail out mages, Isabella, and myself from mobs or hold them in place so the mages could drop firestorm on them.

Photo

I used the middle talent on here the most. When one of my party members started getting hacked up, I’d get their back in an instant. It turned out to be very useful.

Photo

I used Stealth about 4 times in the entire game. That’s never been much for my playing style in Origins, either, but when I needed it, was it useful! The one time I lost my full party I stealthed in the middle of mobs, got out of there, let my other special attacks recharge and came out of it to attack. It’s all that saved his life.

The concealing “bomb” was also constantly used to help out a party member or Hawke who was being beaten up particularly badly by the enemy.

Evade I rarely used. It will get you out of a mob by doing a ridiculous circus back flip. I actually liked how that one worked in Origins but it could probably prove very useful to some playing styles.

Photo

Decoy was another very useful one for me. It helped mobs as well as really tough enemies focus on it rather than my party.

I barely used the other one, but either put a point into it because I needed it for something else or I was experimenting to see what worked best for me.

Anders

Focused on his healing and mostly the old stuff I always have on him. It seems to work for me, but someday I’m going to play a mage and test the things I don’t normally use and see if they’re more effective.

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Avaline

I went with some various resistance to elements on her this time, following a different tree. Aside from dropping Lightning resistance runes on everyone to counteract those attacks by Saarabas’ and Golems I didn’t see much difference.

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Bethany

Again, healer and classic primal spells with a few that have worked for me in the past.

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Isabella

Built her much the same was a Hawke but for some reason she got beat up more than he did. That might have had something to do with equipment, but she stayed behind at the end for Avaline. Avaline was a better tank, but as a rule of thumb in my Dragon Age games, the love interest travels with the hero. That way they get the max interaction and ambient chat (plus mixes the party up for me so it’s less boring.)

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Merril

I’m sure it has to do with my build but I found Merril to be almost useless. I loved the character so had her in my party until the very end, but the different things I tried with her seemed to be weaker than the other mages. She survived pretty well with some potions and a lot of healing from Anders, but take this build as mediocre at best.

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

========================================================
Dragon Age Origins, Dragon Age II and all characters belong to Bioware. No infringement is intended.

You may not copy my work, publish it in any form, or post it on another web site in whole or part without my permission.

